Yasith Weerasuriya– Arresting Celiac Disease witha Gluten-Free Diet

762 Views

Celiac Disease is genetic and can happen to any child or adult as it tends to surface all of a sudden at any age. The consumption of gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. If the disease is not treated, it results in long-term complications, especially in children, as it deters their growth and development. If someone has Celiac Disease, he/she needs to adhere to a strict gluten-free diet for life. Even if someone accidentally ingests gluten in small amounts, it will damage the small intestine’s villi to a large extent. This prevents the absorption of the nutrients in food, and so one has to be very careful when it comes to eating food with even small traces of gluten.

Yasith Weerasuriya – Be informed when it comes to the intake of food

Yasith Weerasuriya is the President of the Stanbridge University at Los Angeles and Irvine in California. He is currently one of the Board of Directors at the Celiac Disease Foundation and has more than 20 years of valuable experience in executive leadership. He has attended Wichita State University and the Irvine Valley College. He has been the founding President of the College Chapter at Phi Thera Kappa, the President of the Honor Society, and the President of the Alpha Gamma Sigma Chapter.

An insight into gluten-free food

When it comes to gluten-free food, one should always look out for natural sources like vegetables, fruits, dairy, seafood, fish, poultry, legumes, nuts, beans, and meat. Wheatgrass and pure barley are free from gluten; however, they often contain some amounts of gluten inside their seeds, so you need to watch out for them carefully. If they have not been harvested or processed properly, there are high chances of you getting gluten contamination when you consume them.

Many people are also confused as to whether they should consume grains or not. There are many gluten-free grains that one can enjoy in various ways. Several of them are available in the local grocery store, while the ones that are not so popular can be found in health stores. Nutritionists and other experts recommend you should never buy grains from bulk bins as there is a possibility of cross-contamination with gluten.

What about drinks?

Beverages are often free from gluten, and so you can choose from sodas, juices, and sports drinks. According to the FDA standards, even wine does not have gluten that is less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Wines are fermented with the help of barrels lined with wheat. According to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center, some wines like Madeira, Muscat, and others do not have gluten. So, you can drink them safely without triggering off a reaction.

When you buy food or wine, you should check the labels carefully of the package. There are wines like liquor, hard ciders, and other distilled liquors that are safe and free from gluten safe for people with celiac disease. Yasith Weerasuriya suggests that one should contact the company to be extra sure that the wine they consume is completely free from gluten.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *